Just Keep Walking

“When you come out of the storm, you won’t be the same person who walked in. That’s what this storm’s all about.” ―Haruki Murakami

On this one particular morning, I woke up and looked outside and saw the clouds.  I have been caught in the rain before, so I really pondered on going. But sometimes the desire out weights the logic.

The walk takes about an hour and a half, if I walk at a fair pacP1110692e. I was about an hour into the walk when I looked up and saw the dark clouds rolling in. I heard the thunder in the distance, so I knew I was going to get caught. There was no choice but to keep on walking especially if I wanted to get back to my car. This is when you know you just have to brace yourself.

I continued to walk and the rain started falling. The sky got darker and darker and the rain started to pour down harder. I still had quite a ways to go.  I was coming to a bend in the path when a deer jumped out. It scared the crap out of me, but I had no choice but to keep on walking.  By this time, I wanted to cry.  I started thinking I must look like a knucklehead out here on this path in this storm, but I had to keep walking.

I had about another 200 yards to the parking lot where my car was, when there was a very, very, very loud clap of thunder and I saw a flash of lightning. I was so scared I ducked down and wanted run for cover, but where was I going to run to? I kept walking. By the time I got to my car, I wP1120046as so drenched and surprising feeling accomplished. I had weathered the storm.

In life we have storms that will arise. No matter what happens around us or to us, it’s how we deal with them that makes the difference. By continuing to take one step at a time, I made it through the storm. It was a turning point in my life I will never forget.

 

Quote Source: http://www.goodreads.com/

 

About SwtNSocial

Loving life. Staying positive. Education, encouraging and empowering others. Using my creativity and enthusiasm to share ideas and thoughts to inspire others.
This entry was posted in Motivational Moments, Nature Walk and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

