Don’t Be Scared

The cave you fear to enter holds the treasure you seek.  ~Joseph Campbell

Many times during the walk I come across a flock of Canadian Geese.1024px-Geesespokaneriver Most of the time they are on the pond or on the lake.  On a few occasions these birds are close to the walking trail or crossing it.  As I come up on them, my heart starts racing and fear of them attacking me comes to mind.

I had a little run in with these birds a few years ago when I was going into one of my favorite retail shops, I accidentally walked to close to a nesting ground. The male bird started to fly towards me, squawking at me. I knew I was definitely in the wrong place. It frightened me and many of other patrons that tried to enter the shop that day.  Ever since that incident, I try to stay mindful of their presence and respect their space.

Recently, I have decided to give these birds names. IMG_1870My names are not meant to be harmful to these birds in any way. My names are meant as a visual reference for the fears generated in my mind. Instead of the sign saying “Caution Feeding Wildlife Can Be Harmful” I see “Caution Feeding Your Fears Can Be Harmful. For instance, in the picture above, I would name these birds confusion, worry, criticism and doubt. By giving the geese these names, I started learning to recognize the emotions that fear generates inside. By feeling and accepting the racing heart beat and the nervousness that arises, I recognize these are feelings of fear. It’s not that the fear will disappear, it is the fact that I have to feel the fear, breathe and keep on moving.

Goose Photo Source: This image was created by Matthew S. Staben http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Canada_goose#mediaviewer/File:Geesespokaneriver.jpg

Quote Source: http://www.quotegarden.com/fear.html

 

About SwtNSocial

Loving life. Staying positive. Education, encouraging and empowering others. Using my creativity and enthusiasm to share ideas and thoughts to inspire others.
This entry was posted in Awareness, Motivational Moments, Nature Walk, Nature Walk and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

