I Walked Away!

A gift resides in every moment. -Deepak Chopra

16016288_sOne year ago today, I was involved in a car accident.  It was a rainy Halloween night, so we didn’t have many “trick or treaters” come to the house.  I didn’t have to rush out to pick up my husband from work that night, and since it was raining I knew I had to take a little extra time to make it there.  Before I got on the highway, I was on my cell phone talking with a friend and I remember saying I needed to get off and concentrate on the road. She said be safe!

As I got close to my exit, I went to switch lanes. The back end of my car started to swerve and I could feel myself starting to lose control of the vehicle.  The car started to hydroplane and I knew I was not going to be able to just stop.  I saw the concrete barrier, “Brace for impact” was the only thought that came to mind as I saw the car heading towards the wall. BOOM…the car stopped, the air bag deployed and I saw nothing but smoke.

I was able to get out the car.  I remember a gentleman yelling at me from the underpass if I had a cell phone and then a woman came running over to my car and asked if I was hurt. I had to take a quick assessment and realized that my arm was hurt due to the air bag deploying. It took a minute for me to realize that I was standing out in the rain, but I was ok. I got back in the car, and called my husband. The ambulance showed up along with the police. By this time the woman had left. IMG_1596I was checked out by the EMT’s and then placed in the police car until the tow truck showed up. As I sat in the police car, a calming presence came over me and I knew everything was going to be alright.

From that day forward, I thank God the moment my eyes open up each morning because I know that each day is a gift. I am blessed to say, I walked away!

Quote Source: Destiny and Desire 21 Day Meditation Challenge https://chopracentermeditation.com/

About SwtNSocial

Loving life. Staying positive. Education, encouraging and empowering others. Using my creativity and enthusiasm to share ideas and thoughts to inspire others.
This entry was posted in Motivational Moments and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

