Quiet Reflections

If you can’t get quiet enough to hear yourself, your life is too loud. ~Terri Guillemets

I never completely understood the term “Silence is golden” until I started meditating.  Now that I have experienced the peace that comes from just sitting in silence, there is not a day that goes by that I don’t take some time to sit silently in a quiet space.   There are three benefits I gained I want to share with you.DSCF4794

The first one is that it helped me to become more mindful of my thoughts. I never realized that I was my own worst enemy and sabotaging my own peace and happiness.  There was so much self-negative talk going on in my own head.  When I started paying attention to the way I spoke to myself I had to make a choice to work on it. When a thought popped in my head, I would ask “would you say that to anyone else out loud?”  Most of the time, the answer was no. The negative talk produced a dislike for myself that I didn’t know existed.  When I would take my walks in the morning, I would focus my attention on positive affirmations, such as, “I am worth.” “I am enough.” “I am successful.” The more I heard these thoughts, the more natural they would pop in to my head. I started to value who I was and the uniqueness I brought to the world.

Another benefit meditating did was helped me to became more present in my life.  My mind wasn’t cluttered with thoughts of what I used to do or what I was going to do, I concentrated on the activity at hand. The trees looked greener and the sky looked bluer.  I discovered a passion for photography.DSCF6033 My relationship with my children improved. Last summer, I implemented a mandatory “unwind time” for everyone. It was something very similar to a tech-free time out, no electronics, cell phones, TV or radio for two hours each night during the weekday.  During the two hours, we would play card games, take walks or just simply sit outside on the deck and talk. I must admit, I had trouble turning off the phone in the beginning but as time went on; the kids would come and sit down in the living room without being called to join in. They actually looked forward to hanging out with me again.

The last thing I want to share was I learned who I am and what I want. I no longer seek approval from others. I gained a deeper to love for myself. DSCF6292 I know now that I have the power to make better and smarter choices for the kind of life I wish to live. I learned that no one can steal your joy when it comes from deep within. 

These lessons didn’t come easy. As Iyanla Vanzant so eloquently states it, I had to challenge my Belief System or BS. I know I am still a work in progress, but I can honestly say, I am proud of the person I am becoming.  Here are three key points I want to leave with you.

  1. The best project to work on is you.
  2. One little step leads to another.
  3. No one can be you but you.

Quote source: http://www.quotegarden.com/silence.html

Thank you for taking the time to visit. Please share your thoughts.

About SwtNSocial

Loving life. Staying positive. Education, encouraging and empowering others. Using my creativity and enthusiasm to share ideas and thoughts to inspire others.
This entry was posted in Awareness, Motivational Moments and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Quiet Reflections

  1. Tonya Perkins says:

    I totally agree with you Tonia. We tend to allow the little voices in our head to tell us that we can’t achieve greatness. I am learning to let go of all the distractions around me and take time out for myself. To learn and understand who I am and what goals I wanted to achieve for myself. It’s vital for us to take time out for ourselves. It’s surely a way for us to grow and to hear God provide instructions as he directs our steps.
    Thank you for sharing such a powerful message. Blessings!

  2. Amy says:

    I’ll right away grab your rss feed as I can not
    find your e-mail subscription hyperlink or newsletter service.

    Do you have any? Kindly allow me recognize so that I may just subscribe.
    Thanks.

  3. Hi! Tengo 34 años y me encuentro aprendiendo inglés más o menos 8 años.

    Este post lo he encontrado fantástico para el estudio inglés.
    Me ha sido muy favorable. Lo voy a acrecentar a mis favoritos.
    Le doy las gracias por el texto.

Leave a Reply

