You are Greater Than This

“Courage is being scared to death, but saddling up anyway.” – John Wayne

The biggest step I took that changed my life was the day I quit my job. 19499673_sIt was December of 2011, I was listening to Katy Perry’s “Firework “on my way to work and was balling like a big old baby. I knew I had to make a change in my life but I was a wife and a mother of three with financial obligations. Something said you can’t keep living like this, you are miserable with you job.  I finally got the nerve up to go into Human Resources and put my two weeks’ notice in.  I had no real idea what I planned on doing but one thing for sure was I was not going to keep working the same job I had done for almost 25 years through the military and private sector.  Many people offered their opinions about my actions but for some strange reason, I felt I was where I needed to be doing exactly what it was I was doing.  At that time I didn’t know that some people would call that a “calling”.  My life hit some rough patches during 2012 through 2013. It wasn’t until 2014 that things started to fall into place. By now, I had my social media business for 2 years with no real growth.  You may be asking yourself, how is that falling into place? Let me explain.

I had one client sign on with me in 2013. 576674_401405473235080_420286707_nDuring that time we both were in a transitional period of our lives.  He signed on with me in 2013 as a client. He had asked me to trust him and that he would do all that we could do to make his dreams come true and that if he made it, we both would make it.  I committed myself to support his dreams by doing what I did best, helping him with his social media presence.

The biggest shift in my business was when my priorities changed.  From 2013 to 2014 my business mindset shifted from sales to service.  I looked forward to meeting potential clients with aspirations in helping them grow their business. It made such a difference knowing I had something valuable to offer.  I realized that when people work to build the relationship the money will follow. chasing_clients I know I am not where I want to be in career but I can honestly say I’m enjoying the journey.

As I look back on that period of my life, I know that without experiencing the loss and heartache I went through, I would not be who and where I am now.  The test was in the trial.  I trust in something greater than myself and remain open to the possibilities. Here are three things I have learned along the way that I would love to share with you.

  1. Keep going no matter how hard it gets.
  2. Discover your gifts and put them to work.
  3. Everyone has a story; share your vision with the world.
About SwtNSocial

Loving life. Staying positive. Education, encouraging and empowering others. Using my creativity and enthusiasm to share ideas and thoughts to inspire others.
This entry was posted in milestone, Motivational Moments, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

