Just Start Somewhere

“Start before you’re ready.” ―Steven Pressfield

I read somewhere that if someone wants to build a social media presence you have to create something new each day. I whole heartily agree with this statement, but the hardest thing I find is being disciplined enough to sit down and start.

The one thing writing a blog has taught me is that you have to just simply push through the distractions. There certainly can be quite a few of them when you decided to put action behind an important task.  I had the same resistance when I started meditation.  I would sit down, get comfy and press play on my iPhone, as soon as Deepak would say close your eyes, thoughts of what I needed to take care of would pop in my head. I couldn’t stay focused.  The more I decided I was going to just sit there, I eventually got better.  I became less distracted by thoughts and gained more focus on my meditation practice. I know the same will happen on my writing.

I have been working on a few techniques that have helped me get more focused on accomplishing some tasks. I have found that if I get still and take some quiet time with myself, the topics of what I want to write about come to me.  When I sit quietly, I ask myself, “What is the message that I would like to bring forward at this moment?” Some of the best ideas have come to me by just waiting.  They have had some A-ha moments.

I have also found that by just writing out all of the thoughts that are in your head can be a great way to determine a topic to write about.  When you take a moment just to write out what’s on your mind, they don’t have to be organized at that moment, it’s just important to get your thoughts down on paper.  Then when you get the chance, go back and organize what you wrote.

The last idea on finding things to write about is just pressing play on your cell phone and just record what’s on your mind.  The most important thing with this method is not to leave them in the sound recording. Take a moment to go back, listen and write your ideas down in a notebook or journal.  Again the most import thing is to get your thoughts out of your head and down on paper.

As with most posts I write about, there is a lesson I would like to share.  This lesson is that you don’t have to things perfect to start, just simply begin with something.  I know my writing will improve the more I keep writing, but what I celebrate each time I post, is the simple fact that I did.

Quote Source: http://www.goodreads.com/quotes/tag/getting-started

About SwtNSocial

Loving life. Staying positive. Education, encouraging and empowering others. Using my creativity and enthusiasm to share ideas and thoughts to inspire others.
This entry was posted in Motivational Moments, Nature Walk and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just Start Somewhere

Leave a Reply

