Look for the Lesson

“The two hardest tests on the spiritual road are the patience to wait for the right moment and the courage not to be disappointed with what we encounter.” ― Paulo Coelho

This week has been very exciting. I flew to Dallas last Tuesday and then flew out to Los Angeles on Wednesday.  I had made plans to attend a red carpet event that I had been scheduled for months.  When I had a few little unexpected hiccups in my travel plans, I got so frustrated with things; I almost decided not to attend the event.

My trip began in Dallas.  The hotel I made reservations with stated they had a free airport shuttle but the day I was scheduled to arrive, the hotel informed me that the shuttle driver would not be able to pick me up.  He recommended the shared ride services. I was pissed because that was the reason I choose that hotel. I didn’t want to get a rental car for a simple overnight stay. Now that I had the additional transportation cost my travel budget had to be readjusted.

When I arrived in LA I was able to get my rental car without any issues. I drove to my hotel and when I checked in, they asked for additional money. I had prepaid for the room but they wanted money for incidentals.  I didn’t have the money. The hotel clerk suggested that I request a refund through the booking service and that they would agree to the cancellation. I was able to cancel my reservation and the hotel agreed to the cancellation without a cancellation fee.  The only remaining problem I had about $30 to my name until the refund was placed back into my bank account. I reached out to an associate to see if I could crash at her place for the night, but she was out of town.  I was technically homeless at this time. Panic started to settle in. I reached out to my uncle who lived in San Jose and started thinking; I could drive up to stay with him and skip the event all together. I had a Toyota Prius and unlimited mileage.  My uncle told me to hold on while he came up with an idea. I decided to drive to the beach to clear my head.

I stayed out at the beach for about an hour and a half.  It was now roughly 6 pm. My uncle texted back and told me he made hotel arrangements at a hotel and all I had to do was check in. They would be waiting on me.

It wasn’t until the following morning when I woke up that I realized that everything had worked out for my good.  I was staying at the hotel I originally wanted to stay at before I even flew out here. The room was paid for and money was in my bank account.

As in most situations I always try to look for the lesson to be learned. In this event I learned:

  1. Trust in the Universe.
  2. Don’t worry. Take each moment as they come.
  3. Trials come to make you stronger and wiser

Quote Source: http://www.goodreads.com/quotes/tag/trials-of-life

About SwtNSocial

Loving life. Staying positive. Education, encouraging and empowering others. Using my creativity and enthusiasm to share ideas and thoughts to inspire others.
This entry was posted in blessed, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

