Just do you, Boo!

Nobody can give you wiser advice than yourself.  ~Cicero

I wrote this post with this very thought in my mind:

If I had a chance to sit and talk with the young Tonia, what I would I tell her?

  1. Never give up on your dreams
  2. Don’t be afraid to make mistakes
  3. Not everyone will agree with your decisions, and that’s ok

Never give up on your dreams.  What I didn’t realize growing up was that everyone has their own purpose in life.  We have our own unique gifts and talents, passions and visions. Not everyone’s picture of success is going to be the same.  I had a dream of being a teacher when I was younger.  I thought the only way to fulfill that dream was to go to school, get a degree and then work for a school.  What I know now is that there are all sorts of “teachers” in the world.  You are only limited by your imagination.

Don’t be afraid to make mistakes.  I give this friendly advice to my youngest daughter all of the time.  I realized that by making mistakes we learn and grow.  Some mistakes are going to be a little more costly than others but for the most part, you can always get back up and keep moving.  I have made some doozeys in my life but looking back now, I know they have helped to shape and mold me into the person I am today.  I reflect on the past but I try not to stay there long.  I look for the lesson and let it go.

Not everyone will agree with your decisions, and that’s ok. This was one of the hardest lessons I had to learn.  I was truly a people pleaser for the longest time.  I was afraid of hurting someone else’s feeling but I was hurting mine in the long run.  I was getting angry at folks but I didn’t realize I was more upset with myself.  I didn’t quite honestly like myself. It wasn’t until a few years ago that I started paying attention to the way I talked to myself.  If I said out loud some of the thought s I expressed in my head to someone else, I definitely wouldn’t have any friends at all.  My self-talk was so downgrading.  Once I became aware of the self-sabotage, I made a conscious effort to change.  It wasn’t easy but it has been life changing. I know now, people will come and go, some will like what you do and some won’t but as long as you are true to you, everything will work out just fine.

The last thing I would tell her is this…  Just do you, Boo!

Quote Resource: http://www.quotegarden.com/advice.html

About SwtNSocial

Loving life. Staying positive. Education, encouraging and empowering others. Using my creativity and enthusiasm to share ideas and thoughts to inspire others.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

