You Can’t Steal my Joy!

“We can never obtain peace in the outer world until we make peace with ourselves.” ― Dalai Lama XIV

By meditating on a regular basis I become aware of my thoughts. The more aware I became of my thoughts the more I started making wiser choices on what I paid attention to and where I focused my efforts.

The first thing that captured my attention was the commercials during television shows.  I started paying more attention to what was being advertised and I realized that most of the commercials are fear-based messages that try to coerce you into some type of action, which is primarily to sell their product like the latest dish washing liquid doesn’t kill enough germ causing bacteria.  Another thing I started noticing was a commercial with a catchy jingle isn’t quite so annoying by the 3rd time you hear it. I started putting the commercials on mute.

The next thing that I started noticing was the amount of negativity in everyday conversation.  The more I tried to focus on eliminating negativity from my conversations the more I found reasons to celebrate even the littlest things.  I found myself singing to the radio and actually dancing around the house as I did such things like vacuuming and cooking.  I eventually stopped watching TV all together.

My days have been more productive and less stressful. I have more time to relax and enjoy things like lying in my hammock, taking morning walks in the park and spending quality time with my family. I started exercising and found a desire to start cleaning out my garage that has been on my to-do list for two years.

What I found is that when you find the joy and appreciation for who you are there is no way anyone can steal that joy from you because it comes  from deep within.

About SwtNSocial

Loving life. Staying positive. Education, encouraging and empowering others. Using my creativity and enthusiasm to share ideas and thoughts to inspire others.
This entry was posted in Awareness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

