An Audience of One

20150812205130-microphone-public-speaking-mediaIt was about four years ago when I joined Toastmasters International or TI. For those who are not familiar with TI, it is a nonprofit, educational organization that operates clubs worldwide for the purpose of helping members improve their communication, public speaking, and leadership skills. The initial reason I joined was to become a better sales person because I talked too much.  I could not close the sale.

Over the years, my reason for staying in the club changed. The last reason I renewed my membership was in order to become a paid public speaker. It didn’t quite workout as I planned but I did learn one thing.  I had the courage to get up and give speeches at club meetings and compete in local area contests which were all positives. However, no matter the size of the audiences I would speak in front of, the biggest critic in the room, was always myself until I focused on simply doing my best. The one person you most often have to please, is the one that lives within. As the famous African Proverb says:

When there is no enemy within, the enemies outside cannot hurt you.

References:

Photo Source: http://workwithadam.blogspot.com/2015/10/5-marketing-strategies-that-dont.html

TI Information Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toastmasters_International

Quote source: https://www.inspirationalstories.com/proverbs/african-when-there-is-no-enemy-within-the/

 

About Tonia Tyler

Loving life. Staying positive. Educating, encouraging and empowering others. Using my creativity and enthusiasm to share ideas and thoughts to inspire others.
This entry was posted in Motivational Moments and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Audience of One

  1. This an awesome post. Keep up the good work.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment